Want to get our awesome news?
Be the first to hear the latest news and specials.

Don't worry we won't spam you and keep your personal data secure

The Neil Pryde Slalom was the first Maui Race Series slalom events for the season and as usual the trade winds kicked in enough to get the racing off as scheduled this past Saturday.

In the Pro division it was Phil McGain riding his new production 2008 Carbon Art 58 who took charge early with a win in the first heat. Driving his Carbon Art with precision around the course, McGain had an excellent start in the second heat but followed Peter Slate around the course, later to find out Peter started prematurely and was Disqualified from the heat. Heat 3 McGain again made no mistakes and took the win, thus giving him the win in the Pro division before the final heat was started.

In the final Pro heat of the day, it was Pieter Bijl who won the heat from McGain, who at this point was grateful to be still on the water without any serious injury after his devastating collision with Mike Yasak. McGain had an early collision on the course before the start of heat 4 with Mike Yasak who suffered a broken leg in the accident. McGain won the Pro division with Pieter Bijl second and Alex Aguera third.

James Dinis Carbon Art’s owner and shaper got a commendable second place in the Mens 19-39 age group. James sailed consistently in the afternoon races to place ahead of World cup pro Pieter Bijl and right behind first place getter Peter Slate.

Hi! got a question?
Send us your message below.